Detective Dee The Mystery of the Phantom Flame 狄仁杰之通天帝国

Director: Tsui Hark
Main Cast: Andy Lau, Carina Lau, Tony Leung
Release Date: 30 September 2010
Running Time: 123 minutes
Genre: Martial Arts/Suspense

Actually, I have no idea that today will be the last day of screening of Detective Dee at Cathay Cineplex Causeway Point and AMK Hub. Lady Luck stands by me, so that I can make in time to utilize my Cathay movie voucher and E!Pass.

Am I late or are they trying to be punctual?  Missed the start (first few minutes) into the movie. Cathay Cineplex Causeway Point played Detective Dee 7 minutes past 1. For Golden Village, the norm is 10 minutes after the stated time.

The chim chinese characters and speech can be quite hard to follow and catch at times. Maybe it’s time for me to bond with higher level Chinese again.

But I really enjoyed the part where people burst into flames out of a sudden. This phenomenon is a result of them being exposed to light after coming into contact with or consuming water contaminated by the bug or contact with or bitten by the bug. It inspire me to trick my Mom. “Mom, see the black bites on my arm, they are smoking!” It’s actually my mole. XD

Before the film starts, I expect myself to go gaga over Andy Lau. However, I was wrong. Ended up liking Deng Chao. 裴东来-鄧超 飾, is not based on history, but  a fictionary character created by the director. Together with the setting, they do remind me of Hogwarts. Chinese Magic? Watch out for Deng Chao, he has what it takes to make it big in the industry.

Mom says this is the best Chinese film for the year before the year even concludes. Need I say more? Speed up if you have not catch this film yet because it’s only available at GV, Shaw and Filmgarde.

P.S. The hall was great with no stairs. Elderly-friendly.

Leave a Reply

